Summer “Sure Bet” Staff Picks

by Kelly

As library staff members, we get to see what you read every day. Don’t worry, we don’t judge. We love seeing the variety of books that walk out our doors with our patrons! From helping you find books on our shelves, checking them out for you, and sending you on your way, we are part of your reading process.  But what do we read, you may wonder? With summer in full swing, we’re sharing a bit of our reading world with you. These are “sure bet” titles for you to take with you on vacation, read in a hammock, or simply curl up to in the air conditioning.

Summer reads

Britney recommends:

Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book is total #squadgoals! Set in space, this team of misfits find themselves targeted by powerful governments when they stumble onto a secret that can change the fate of the galaxy.

Murder in the Reading Room by Ellery Adams. This cozy mystery, partially set at the Biltmore House, has everything you need—rare books, secret societies, adventure, and murder!

 

Betty recommends:

What We Keep: 150 People Share One Object that Bring Them Joy, Magic, and Meaning, by Bill Shapiro.

Country Living Tiny Homes: Living Big in Small Spaces edited by Caroline McKenzie.

Both of these titles are great books for lazy-day browsing, filled with wonderful photos.

 

Zach recommends:

Malazan Book of the Fallen series, by Steven Erikson. A sprawling nine-book fantasy series that reaches across four continents. Full of magic, humor, and compassion, you’ll feel sad to finish the final pages of this beautiful series.

 

Janelle recommends:

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Steward. If you like quirky characters, plot twists, and writing that celebrates inventive thinking, then this is a great summer selection for you. This book proves that when we harness the power of our differences to work together, amazing things can happen.

On Writing by Stephen King. This nonfiction narrative/informative blend is a unique book and fantastic read. Although it’s not an autobiography, King shares many memories (in a way that only he can) that reveal how his childhood and life shaped his work as a writer.

 

 

Olivia recommends:

Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan. A vibrant graphic novel with action that would please any 80’s summer blockbuster fan. The perfect read for a lazy summer night.

 

Kelly recommends:

Kill the Farm Boy by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne. This quirky, fun, fantasy adventure will have you hooked from chapter one. This book is great for fans of The Princess Bride and Monty Python-esque comedy. Rollicking fun.

While you are at it, read No Country for Old Gnomes, a just-released follow-up adventure by the same authors.

We hope you enjoy your summer, and all the reading you can fit into it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.